More than free: Big Ten Open Books + IU

Making e-books "free to read" is just part of the story. 

Big Ten Open Books are free to read for anyone with an Internet connection. They are also openly licensed under Creative Commons licenses, which make most of the titles free to reuse in any non-commercial way. All the books can be downloaded as both PDF and EPUB3 files, meaning that readers can use them offline as well as online. We don't apply any "digital rights management" (DRM), so when you download a file it won't "expire."

Learn more about access for everyone from Big Ten Open Books.


Open Indiana from Indiana University Press

In addition to 22 books in the new BTAA Open Books Project, IU Press also has an open access collection titled Open Indiana. With the generous support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities, Indiana University Press received funding through the Humanities Open Book Program to digitize and make open access 200 titles from its backlist. 

A graphic with the words Open Indiana

Explore the Open Indiana titles in Asian studies, film, folklore, Slavic studies, language studies, music, and philosophy.

About the Big Ten Academic Alliance

The Big Ten Academic Alliance is the nation’s preeminent model for effective collaboration among research universities. For more than half a century, these world-class institutions have advanced their academic missions, generated unique opportunities for students and faculty, and served the common good by sharing expertise, leveraging campus resources, and collaborating on innovative programs. Governed and funded by the provosts of the member universities, Big Ten Academic Alliance mandates are coordinated by a staff from its Champaign, Illinois headquarters. The fifteen world-class libraries of the Big Ten Academic Alliance members include Indiana University, Michigan State University, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University, Rutgers University–New Brunswick, University of Illinois, University of Iowa, University of Maryland, University of Michigan, University of Minnesota, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, University of Wisconsin–Madison, and the University of Chicago.