The Ruth Clifford Engs Library Angel Award


Professor Emerita Dr. Ruth Engs, a staunch supporter of the IU Libraries, wished to recognize and reward outstanding library service by IU Libraries staff to faculty. In 2004, she created a fund to honor these individuals. Nominated by faculty, these phenomenal librarians and staff serve the IU community with outstanding care and dedication. 

To be eligible for the award, the librarian or staff member should work with the Research Collections. This may include, but are not limited to, Access Services, Area Studies, Art & Humanities, Collection & Development Services, Digital Collections Services, Discovery & User Experience, Government Information, Maps & Microform Services, Learning Commons, Library Technologies, Research & Learning, Scholars' Commons, and Technical Services.

View the past recipients of this award.

The award is selected from faculty and instructor nominations. If you teach classes at IUB and have found a particular librarian or staff member particularly helpful, please fill out the following form.  It provides an area for your comments, or you can upload a document. You may nominate one librarian or staff member per year. Nominations will be reviewed and a winner selected by the IU Libraries Scholarship and Awards Committee. The form to nominate will be open again next year. The current Angel Award will be awarded in May of 2024. Send any questions to

Angel Award: Nomination Form

Required fields are marked with an '*'.
Nominee information *
Include both first and last names.
Department or area of IU Libraries in which nominee works.
Type or paste your reason for nomination here, OR attach a document below.
Upload your document in .pdf, .txt, or .rtf format.
One file only.
50 MB limit.
Allowed types: txt, rtf, pdf.
Your information *
Information about the person submitting this nomination.