Dr. Robert Oppliger received his BS ’67 and MS ’69 in Education from Indiana University.  He was a proud member of the swim team, and went on to get his Ph.D. ’84 in Exercise Science from the University of Iowa.  There, he served as a statistician for 15 years. His academic vita includes more than 50 publications and over a hundred presentations to scientific and lay audiences.  He has served in many capacities for the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) and been a consultant to the NCAA, National Federation of High School Associations, and several state high schools sports associations.

He feels strongly about education and the work of libraries. This award is for graduate studies earning degrees in library and information sciences and working in the Wells Library Scholars' Commons.

Previous Awardees are as follows: 

2024: Khairuddin Bakhshi and Rex Brown

2023: Alex Caba and Becky Craft

2022: Grayson Murphy and Megan Vladoiu

2021: Adrienne Rife

2020: Stephanie Brown

2019: Chloe Hovind

2018: Jacob Mauldwin and Jeneva Sumner