In 2017, the Jay Information Literacy Scholarship was established by a mother and daughter team, two former educators and school librarians: Hilda Jay '45 and Ellen Jay '85, '86. Both Hilda and Ellen taught in public schools and universities, wrote books on information literacy, and encouraged the teaching of critical thinking skills. The Jay Information Literacy Scholarship is given each year to a student working in the Teaching and Learning Commons of the IU Libraries with the intent of furthering information literacy instruction. 

Previous Recipients of the Jay Information Literacy Award:

2023-2024     Taylor Strong and Abby Welch

2022-2023    Taylor Strong 

2021-2022    Velencia Posso 

2010-2021    Margaret McLaughlin

2019-2020    Madeleine Gaiser