Dr. Ruth Engs, Professor Emerita at the Indiana University School of Public Health and a generous benefactor to the IU Libraries, noticed that several IU Libraries staff members demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to excellence. In 2004, she created a fund to honor these individuals. Nominated by faculty, these outstanding librarians and staff  serve the IU community with outstanding care and dedication. Every year the Awards and Scholarship Committee has a difficult time selecting just one recipient to receive a monetary award for being an “angel.”  

Nomination Form

Previous Recipients of the Angel Award:

2023:     Jamie Thomas, Head Projectionist and Screening Room Coordinator  

2022:    G. Arave, Research and Instruction Librarian, Business/SPEA Library

2021:    Michelle Dalmau, Head, Digital Collections Services & Co-Director for Institute of Digital Arts and Humanities

2020:    Not awarded

2019:    Carrie Schwier, University Archives

2018:    Maureen Maryanski, Lilly Library

2017:    Zach Downey, Lilly Library 

2016:    Rebecca Baumann, Lilly Library

2015:    Jeri Anderson, Business/SPEA Information Commons

2014:    Lou Malcomb, Government Information, Maps, and Microform Services

2013:    Carrie Donovan, Teaching & Learning

2012:    Jennifer Simms, Scholarly Communication

2011:    Judith Quance, Customer and Access Services

2010:    Martha Harsanyi, Media and Reserve Services

2009:    Jeffrey Graf, Reference

2008:    Randall Lent, Customer and Access Services

2007:    Rhonda Long, Customer and Access Services

2006:    Colleen Talty, Kent Cooper Room Services

2005:    David Frasier, Reference

2004:    Ann Bristow, Reference