Bloomington Library Faculty

/Bloomington Library Faculty

In support of the mission and goals of Indiana University, the library faculty on the Bloomington campus is dedicated to fulfilling the varied information needs of the university community by collecting, organizing, disseminating, and preserving recorded knowledge in all its forms and by providing dynamic library services based on these material resources.

The library faculty accepts the responsibility for maintaining high standards of performance and for participating in the development of library services and in the determination of the goals of the Indiana University library system.  The library faculty affirms the necessity for communication among the libraries on the Bloomington campus and throughout the library system and for consulting with the teaching and research faculties to identify and attain the objectives of those libraries.

The library faculty is committed to the concept of academic freedom and recognizes that such freedom, accompanied by responsibility, is attached to all aspects of a librarian's professional conduct.

Bloomington Library Faculty Documents & Information about the Bloomington Library Faculty Council

Contact for more information:


  • Constitution - Provides for the governance of the Bloomington library faculty
  • By-Laws - Operational rules for the BLF and BLFC, including organizational functions and duties of the BLF

Promotion and Tenure

Procedures & Documentation

Recruiting & Hiring

Research & Sabbatical Leaves

Third Year Review




Bloomington Library Faculty Council

The Bloomington Library Faculty Council is the formal representative organization of the Library Faculty of Indiana University at Bloomington. It functions as an advisory body to the Library Administration and as the governing body of the Library Faculty.

Diane Dallis-Comentale, Interim Ruth Lilly Dean of University Libraries
Gary Arave, BLFC President 2021-2022
Meredith Knoff, BLF President 2021-2022
Nazareth Pantaloni, BLFC Past President, ex officio
Chuck Peters, BFC Unit 7 Representative 2021-2022

2020-2022:   Gary Arave
2020-2022:   Mireille Djenno
2020-2022:   Jackie Fleming
2021-2023:    DeLoice Holliday
2021-2023:    Anna Marie Johnson
2020-2022:   Meredith Knoff
2021-2023:    Amy Minix
2021-2023:    Monique Threatt
2021-2023:    Thomas Whittaker

Bloomington Library Faculty Committees: Charges & Rosters